Paxos Festival

Buried Treasure

Buried Treasure: The Avant Garde Chamber Music of Mikis Theodorakis

This evening’s lecture – concert wishes to depict a tiny part of Mikis Theodorakis’s incredible personality as a composer and especially as a classical music composer. Gail Holst-Warhaft, pianist in his band in the heroic times of the ‘70s and his loyal friend until his recent death, will present to us, in her exceptional style, elements of his shaping and development as a chamber music composer enriched by many unknown to most information on his personal life at the same time. Athens String Quartet will perform some of his emblematic chamber music pieces in accuracy and love.

Music Program

Mikis Theodorakis
String Quartet No 1: “The Turn”, 1946, 8′
String Quartet No 2: “The Cemetery” 1946, 7′
String Quartet no 3: “Epoca Nocturna” 1948-1956, 9′
String Quatet No 4: “Maza” 1958 (Mass) 9